Friday, September 30, 2022
HomeSPORTSThe day of organizing BPL may be delayed

The day of organizing BPL may be delayed

BCB president Nazmul Hasan Papon has said that although the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is scheduled to start on January 20, the timing of the tournament may be delayed. The board president made the remarks after an emergency meeting on a visit to New Zealand on Saturday (December 16th).

The influence of the new type of corona Omicron is growing worldwide. There is no guarantee that Bangladesh cricketers visiting New Zealand will be at the bar. Meanwhile, Tigers spin coach Rangana Herath has also been attacked by Corona. For all these reasons, BPL can lag behind.

Bangladesh’s match in New Zealand will end on January 13. It is risky to organize BPL with those cricketers after the tour! Moreover, it is a long time to come to Bangladesh and play according to the quarantine rules. For this reason, Papun said that the day may be delayed. Otherwise, this event will be held with the cricketers of the country.

A total of six teams are expected to take part in the BPL this time. Though the next BPL is to be held with 6 teams, 6 franchises have been selected as per the pre-plan of BCB. Last year’s champion Rajshahi and former champion Rangpur will not be in the upcoming BPL. Next year’s BPL competition will be with Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet, Barisal, Comilla and Khulna.

Among the old teams, Comilla Victorians and Chittagong Challengers are in BPL this time. Meanwhile, three very well known and established franchises Beximco, Bashundhara and Jamcon Group are not in BPL this time. They have not expressed interest in becoming a franchise this time.

This time the game is supposed to be played in 3 venues but the venues may be reduced to two, the teams may also be reduced. The whole issue is under discussion. Papon said, everything will be finalized on December 21.

Comilla Victorians are returning to BPL after almost three years. They have given a different dimension to BPL by bringing world famous cricketers in the team. Comilla was the last champion in 2019 BPL. After that two more events were held on the field but it was managed by BCB.

This time BPL is going back to the old model. Each team will have the opportunity to field three foreign cricketers outside the player auction. Comilla franchise has picked three big names of T20 in the team. Du Plessis will play for Comilla. Besides, Moin Ali and Sunil Narain are also being flown with him.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments