Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomeSPORTSThe last day of the Tigers with relief

The last day of the Tigers with relief

More than two overs left to end the day’s play. That’s when Tom Blandell got bold on the inside corner of the bat. As a result, the Tigers finished the day with 2.3 overs left. At the end of the first day, the Kiwis collected 256 runs for 5 wickets. Devon Conway scored a century for the Kiwis. Shariful Islam got two wickets for the Tigers and captain Muminul Haque and Ebadat Hossain got one wicket each.

Earlier, Tiger captain Mominul Haque decided to bowl after winning the toss against New Zealand at the Bay Oval in Mount Manganui. Bangladesh XI has been arranged with seven batsmen, three pacers and a single spinner.

Bangladesh fast bowlers started bowling well in the first session of the first Test. Bangladesh’s three fast bowlers Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam and Ibadat Hossain did not allow the Kiwis to play their own game. The line and length were great even though the three pacers had no speed. Fast bowler Shariful Islam picked up the Kiwi captain in the fourth over of the first session. Will Young then took the helm of the team with Devon Conway down to number three.

After that, the bowlers of Bangladesh could not hold that edge of bowling. No bowler was seen taking any more wickets in the first session. At the end of the first session, the Kiwis lost 1 wicket before lunch and collected 6 runs. The Kiwis went to the lunch break with Conway 36 and Young 28 runs. The only success for the visitors came in the hands of Shariful.

After the lunch break, no bowler was able to bowl like in the first hour of the first session. The two top-order batsmen were playing in such a way that they could spend the whole day. As a result, Young and Conway made a pair of 100 runs in the second wicket. However, after a hundred runs, the pair did not last long. Lucky run-out broke the pair of 137 runs, right-handed opener Young returned to the dressing room after driving fifty.

Bangladesh XI
Sadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Nazmul Hossain Shant, Muminul Haque (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wicket keeper), Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehedi Hasan Miraj, Taskin Ahmed Ebadat Hossain and Shariful Islam.

New Zealand XI
Tom Latham (captain), Will Young, Devon Conway, Ross Taylor, Henry Nichols, Tom Blandell (wicket keeper), Rachin Rabindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Trent Bolt.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments